Society for Scientific Exploration - Dinsdale Memorial Award Nominations

The Society for Scientific Exploration (SSE) has put out a call for nominations for the 2014 Tim Dinsdale Memorial Award, presented by the SSE. The Award is the only formal academic recognition for significant contributions made to the expansion of human understanding through the study of unexplained phenomena. The award is not restricted to SSE members.
Established in 1992 by Professor Henry Bauer, the Dinsdale Award is named in memory of Tim Dinsdale, who was an engineer by profession and who, by chance, obtained striking evidence of unexplained animals in Loch Ness in 1960. Over the next three decades, Dinsdale's quest to understand what he documented was a model of meticulous research, rigorous methodology, and proper scholarly attitude. Through the Dinsdale Award, the Society for Scientific Exploration endeavors to identify and reward senior scholars who have made similar substantial contributions to the understanding of physical, biological, and psychological anomalies with the same scientific integrity that Tim Dinsdale exemplified.
The Society for Scientific Exploration has presented the Dinsdale Award every two years since 1992. The previous winners include Helmut Schmidt (1992) for pioneering electronic and computer techniques in the study of human-machine interactions; William Corliss (1994) for his unique and comprehensive cataloguing of scientific anomalies: Halton Arp (1996), for his work on non-Doppler redshifts and their import for cosmological theory; Ian Stevenson (1998), for his distinguished studies of cases suggestive of reincarnation; Kilmer McCully (2000), for elucidating the role of homocysteine in arteriosclerosis; William Roll (2002), for his studies of "recurrent spontaneous psychokinesis," e.g. poltergeists; Robert Rines (2004), for major discoveries concerning the natural history of Loch Ness and major advances in seeking the large animals thought to exist there; Peter Sturrock (2006), for the application of sound scientific principles and methodologies to the study of unidentified aerial phenomena, including outreach to professional astronomers and physicists, and for leadership in facilitating disciplined discussion and peer-reviewed publication of research on scientific anomalies; Jerome Clark (2008), for his prolific publications and editorial work on anomalies, concentrating especially on the UFO phenomenon, which have brought to the general public comprehensive and trustworthy information presented from a sophisticated perspective; Jack Houck (2010), who with great personal risk and enormous dedication, made significant contributions to the field of consciousness studies over the past 40 years and transformed parapsychological theory into a visceral experience; and Henry Bauer (2012), for his courageous explorations at the edges of scientific knowledge and his passionate insistence that data must be the driving force in science as a truth seeking enterprise. The 2014 Dinsdale Award will be presented at the 33rd Annual Meeting of the Society for Scientific Exploration. 
Nominations for the 2014 Tim Dinsdale Memorial Award should include a clear description of the nominee’s relevant efforts and their significance, together with appropriate documentation (publication lists, reviews of published books), and the names of people who can speak authoritatively to the value of the nominee’s contributions.
Nominations will be considered by an ad hoc committee comprising Patrick Huyghe (chair), Stephen Braude, Garret Moddel, and Bill Bengston (ex officio). Please send your nominations and supporting material to us by December 1, 2013 via email — — or via the post office:
Patrick Huyghe
PO Box 6807
Charlottesville, VA 22906
Filed under: